the best fish you ever made (recipe)

I am an avid fisher… for compliments, that is. The man I love, however, tends to be less than forthcoming with them when it comes to food. If Jacob says that something is “not bad,” I know it’s a winner. If he throws around bigger compliments, I know that I’ve found a dish I need to add to my arsenal.

Tonight was one of those nights in which we got hungry way too late for any magic to happen. Dinner at 10? Stare into the fridge in a daze for a while? How about salmon.

But this salmon was pretty spectacular. Jacob told me that it was “the best fish you ever made.” That’s a pretty hefty compliment. I can dig it.

The secret is in the spice rub. A little sweet, a little smoky, a little spicy. This spice mix would work on any type of fish, I’m sure. I can imagine it would also be delicious on grilled chicken.

I served it up on some leftover whole wheat pasta tossed with baked caramelized onions (a recipe that will be posted soon… totally delicious), peppers and peas.

blackened salmon
for two

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2 salmon fillets (I used frozen, skin on)
2 Tbs olive oil
spice rub

  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 2 Tbs paprika
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp coriander 
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
Dry salmon with paper towels. Cover both sides of the fillet with spice rub, pressing the seasoning into the meat. 
Heat oil in oven-safe skillet on medium high heat. Place salmon into pan, searing for 1-2 minutes on each side. Then, place skillet into 350 degree oven for 3-4 minutes, or until meat flakes with a fork.
This entry was posted in food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to the best fish you ever made (recipe)

  1. Looks delicious. We love salmon! The spice rub sounds good. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a comment