stress is good, kinda.

upside-down U of destiny.

Today in neuroanatomy, we talked briefly about stress.

You need a little stress to do well. I get it. We do well working toward a deadline. In college, I got to this awful point where I couldn’t start a paper until the night before it was due. I wrote my 34-page thesis in a 24-hour chemical-fueled frenzy. And then I collapsed for a few days…

If there’s no pressure, there’s no incentive to do well. Remember winter break? I don’t. I had no schedule, no plans and no obligations. It was glorious… for a while. I was a little bored by the end of week four. Snowmageddon? Yeah… I’m still paying for that lovely lack of performance.

If you have too much stress, things go awry. Your amygdala takes the reins and your prefrontal cortex throws in the towel. You sweat. You freak out. You crawl into a ball in a dark place and don’t come out until the bogey men are gone. Refer to my posts about the first two neuro exams if you have blocked experiences like this out of your own memory…

But if you get into that sweet spot… that little money area where pressure and performance equilibrate, you’re golden. You’re unstoppable. You’re awesome. You aren’t quite up to the highest level of human performance, but you’re doing a damn fine job.

Now… I’m just a lowly first year here, so I don’t know much about the world. I’m just throwing out some ideas. But if you were the professor teaching us about this pressure-performance balance, don’t you think it would be reasonable to use this information in your testing strategy? I’m thinking that your final, in all it’s 5-hour-140-question-34%-weight glory, might be a little too far right on that pressure axis.

Just saying…

This entry was posted in medical school, resolution and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to stress is good, kinda.

  1. 34% weight. Wow! Blessings to you…

  2. doforyou says:

    I know… it’s huge! Thank you so much for your support! 🙂

Leave a Reply

