magic ____ doctor

Sometimes I get bored when I’m studying. Sometimes when I get bored, I get distracted. Sometimes when I get distracted, I notice gems like this one in the library.

Apparently, Lloyd Morey was an incredible osteopathic physician who realized he wanted to become a doctor when he “removed a wart from a playmate’s hand — using a straight razor.” He graduated from Kirksville and set up shop in Millinocket, Maine. Eventually Dr. Morey bought his very own hospital and helped set up Bangor Osteopathic Hospital. He was the first doctor in his area to suggest prenatal treatment for expecting mothers. He invented the “invaluable Morey Lymphatic Pump.” Furthermore, Dr. Morey was one of the people who fought to end prejudice against osteopaths in the military. And just before he passed away, he wrote this book… which is about the “most important part of his career… his patients.”

Huh. What a cool guy. And there’s not an entry on Wikipedia about him, so really, I wouldn’t have ever come across him. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, procrastination fairy.

And just when I needed some motivation.

I want to be a magical doctor.

That reminds me… I had to write a mini personal statement this week as part of an application for a rural summer externship program. No one actually read it… more of a formality than anything else. Now it can live forever in blogworld.

I grew up twenty minutes from the bustling city of McAlester, in a little community called Bugtussle. Now, you may have never heard of this place, but I promise that at one time it was a happening place. There is a church and a volunteer fire department run out of an old one-room schoolhouse. When I was growing up, there was a little gas/grocery/bait shop, but that building now stands vacant with little left but a sign advertising gasoline for $1.12 a gallon. My parents’ house is on a hill overlooking lovely Lake Eufala. My sister and I grew up jumping on hay bales and looking for shells on the shoreline. This was a great way to grow up, but by the time I graduated from McAlester High, I only wanted one thing – out.

Taking the first opportunity for adventure, I headed to Baltimore for college. Although I loved almost every minute as an independent girl in the big city, I quickly realized that I’d never be at home there. The city is loud, hot and crowded. Everyone is in a hurry to get somewhere and they all seem to be a little crankier than they should be. The drivers are insane, and seem to target their honking at poor lost college students with out-of-state license plates. I enjoyed Baltimore, but I couldn’t wait to get back to my homeland.

After college, I gave a year of service to AmeriCorps working with the National AIDS Fund here in Tulsa. I spent most of my time with the Red Cross as a HIV Prevention Educator. Basically, this means that I spent my days driving an awesome Red Cross minivan across the state teaching kids about self-awareness and sexually transmitted diseases. In my eleven months of service I taught 7,318 students. Most of these kids were in little communities that I had never heard of – Hammon to Roland, and everywhere in between. The students and teachers in these communities were some of the most appreciative people I’ve ever met.

All of these experiences have proven one point to me – my heart lives in rural Oklahoma. I can’t imagine any place I would rather practice medicine or raise a family. Although I haven’t decided on a specialty yet, I know that I want to be part of a rural community. I have already learned so much about rural medicine through the Perspectives in Rural Health course, but I need first hand experience. I want to see what it is really like to be a physician in a rural area. I think that the summer rural externship is an excellent way to better understand rural medicine, and to get some early clinical exposure. I want to learn more about the challenges of rural medicine. I want an opportunity to see how physicians fit into the dynamics of a small community. Although I have seen these things from the patient’s perspective, I look forward to this externship as an opportunity to understand rural healthcare from the other side of the lens. I think this will be an exciting and unique learning opportunity.

The. End.

This entry was posted in medical school, resolution and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to magic ____ doctor

  1. You have experienced more in your short life than some people ever will. Blessings…

Leave a Reply

