appreciation

In case you were wondering, attending medical school is rough… but I can’t even imagine how stressful it must be to work at a medical school.

I mean… I’ve worked my whole life to perfect my particular style of crazy, and it worked for me. I’m here. I’m doing my thing. I spend most of my time hiding in this building. I’m stressed, but so is everyone else. We can come together in the stress. We can cultivate it. We can make it work for us. We’re all in it together.

But what must it be like to be on the staff at a medical school?

Every single day a fleet of people come to work here just to make sure we can do our learning thing. The cheerful faces at the front desk? The librarians who call you by name and recheck your overdue books during snowstorms? These people see us at our absolute worst. No makeup. Unshowered. Crying. Stressed. And they do everything in their power to make sure that we have the resources to keep going.

And not only do they do their thing, they often go the extra mile for us. They don’t have to… they just do.

Little things like this make our journey a little more doable. Whether it’s wishing us luck while we walk to an exam or hanging little happy things on stacks throughout the library, these little things are incredibly helpful.

So, although I may need a little more than luck, I appreciate the sentiment.

Thank you. The end.

This entry was posted in medical school, resolution and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to appreciation

  1. How sweet of you to notice them, and they, to respond to your needs. I’m sure they sense how stressed you all are and know how hard it is for medical students. Their jobs are not as stressful as your pursuit of your medical education, and they naturally want to cheer you onward. Blessings to you…

    • doforyou says:

      It really is nice to have such a positive group of people supporting us and taking care of us behind the scenes. Such a great reminder that we’re here for a reason, and we’ll get through it in one piece!

Leave a Reply

