keyword = partnership

…keeping it real for way longer than any sane person would find reasonable

 

It’s really tricky to describe the thing we have going. I think that calling Jacob my “boyfriend” makes it sound a little too superficial, and when I refer to him as my “partner” people seem to assume things about his gender that may or may not be correct. We just are. It just works.

So, facebook now has new relationship status options, and I decided it was time to change things up a bit. I chose to describe our situation as a “domestic partnership” because, really… that’s what we’ve got going on with our little family. I dig it.

And then this happened…

he – That’s what I get for not reading before I accept something…. Ma’am, this is not a domestic partnership…

me – Uh huh… and so what is it?
“A domestic partnership is a legal or personal relationship between two individuals who live together and share a common domestic life but are neither joined by marriage nor a civil union.”

he – Call me old-fashioned… but that just sounds weird!!!

me – I hate to break it to you, sugar, but we’re not a very old-fashioned pair.

he – That’s true… if we were we would have been married at 14 and had 8 kids… 3 of which would have died from smallpox. You would be a stay at home mom and I would be a raging alcoholic who worked in a coal mine.. and we would also have a three-legged dog and a shit load of chickens..

… and I may or may not have laughed out loud in the library.

Have I mentioned that I really like this kid?

This entry was posted in Correspondence, resolution and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to keyword = partnership

  1. What a beautiful couple! Blessings to you both…

Leave a comment