out of control

 

I have no control of the world outside of myself.

That’s a harsh reality… and one that I was painfully reminded of this afternoon… via email.

When I was a kid, I had illusions of grandeur. I imagined that I was mighty and powerful and that people respected me and took my words to heart.

But in the end, that’s bullshit. Straight up.

So, change that idea of reality. Build a new one. One in which I am solely and intensely responsible for my actions. My environment? It does what it wants, regardless of my response. Deal. Move on.

But if I can’t control the world around me, what can I do?

 

I can control my voice. I can make sure it only sounds when relevent.

I can control my actions… at least most of the time.

I can control the things I use to nourish my body, mind, soul.

I can control my position… even when it seems impossible.

I can control my thoughts, and be present.

 

And really? That’s it. Everything else? Who knows… chaos?

 

My mantra for yoga today?

[complaining is a waste of my time]

This entry was posted in resolution and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to out of control

  1. Your conclusions remind me of the oft-repeated poem that says: God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference…by –Reinhold Niebuhr. Blessings to you…

    • doforyou says:

      I think that this is a really important concept, but it’s really difficult to wrap my head around. Life is much more manageable when I focus on the things I CAN do. Everything else is a waste of precious energy.

Leave a Reply

