just muffins

This morning, I decided to make muffins. Pumpkin muffins.

Coffee in hand and no real game plan, I did some googling and whatnot and came across several delicious looking recipes. I liked the look of this one, so I got to it… changing every single step because that’s how things happen in my life.

I didn’t have 3 cups of white flour, so I subbed a cup of wheat. I didn’t have sugar, so I threw in a cup of honey. A little extra spice and confusion later… we ended up with this recipe

  • 3 c flour (2 AP, 1 WW)
  • 2 t bk powder
  • 2t bk soda
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 can pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c honey
  • 1 1/2 c oil

Erin, I don’t know you, but I’m sorry I butchered your mom’s recipe. I’m just a semi-competent med student with a sorry looking pantry.

And so a little sifty mixy with the dry stuff.

A little mixy mixy with the wet stuff…

And this is the exact moment when I realized I don’t have any muffin tins. They’re at my friend Jen’s house. All three of them. We made cupcakes last weekend. Hmm…

Jacob said, just make it into bread. But I don’t want bread, I want magical happy little muffins, dammit!

So we improvise… and we hope for the best.

And 400 degrees and 18 minutes later… they don’t look so bad.

Verdict? Best pumpkin muffins I’ve ever made. Not too sweet, not too caky. I might have to eat a couple more right now to make sure… but they are damn fine muffins.

This entry was posted in recipes, resolution and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to just muffins

  1. Babygirl says:

    Nice nice post. They look delicious

  2. I like your spirit! Improvise when necessary! It worked. They look delicious. Pass me one, please. Oh, you ate them. Well. Blessings to you…

  3. Erin Nichols says:

    “Butchered” or not it looks like the end product was delicious! So glad you found my mom’s recipe worth tinkering with.

  4. jennduroy says:

    so I will bring you the muffins pans on the way to yoga in the morning…. and I wish you would bring me a muffin but I am sure they are all gone

Leave a Reply

