rock star

I ran out of gas the other day.

This happens more often than I would like to admit.

Usually, I lose it when I have car problems. Lose. It. This time was different. I had a gas can. I had a ride to the gas station. I had a fully charged phone. I was incredibly proud of myself.

I called my dad to celebrate my preparedness and general nonfreakoutness.

me – Dad… I ran out of gas, but I didn’t freak out, and I had a gas can in my car.
he – That’s why you graduated Cum Laude.
me – Yeah… and that’s probably why I didn’t graduate Summa Cum Laude. If I had graduated Summa Cum Laude, I wouldn’t have let myself run out of gas in the first place.
he – And if you’d graduated Magna Cum Laude, god would have been following you and making sure that the gas station came to you.
me – Did I mention that I didn’t cry?

Maybe I should have been a rock star.

This entry was posted in Correspondence, resolution and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

