bad connection

I’m going to be real honest for a second… I hate to talk on the phone.

There. I said it. I’m sorry. I’m a 23-year-old girl woman who can’t muster the courage to call people on the phone. Calling customer service makes my toes get all twisty. It’s true. Please don’t judge me too harshly.

Now, I thought I could overcome this problem. I mean, I worked for the Phonathon at Utopia U. I spent four years calling up alums and asking them for cash. But, no. Each and every time I picked up the phone, my stomach tied itself into knots. Every now and then, I’d break out into a cold sweat. Seriously. For reals.

And this problem isn’t limited to calling strangers. I even get a little panicky when I talk to friends on the phone. I’m all awkward. I don’t know when to get off the phone. It’s a problem.

I can’t even check my voice mail without a little bit of the fluttery heart. I know, right?

I don’t know how I was able to carry on a long-distance relationship for four years. Probably magic. Fate? Gross.

Now that I’ve acknowledged that I have a problem, maybe I can begin building a healthier relationship with the telephone. Right…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

